We are proud to announce our 3rd release by Ingrid Laubrock & Tom Rainey, Utter.  Read the liner notes below:

Original artwork by Lain York – www.lainyork.com

Front cover: Sitemap

Back cover: Hulks


A big thank you to Lain York for his artwork

and to Kevin Reilly and Mike Panico at Relative Pitch Records.

In 2016, Tom Rainey and I went on on a second extended duo tour – this time, all along the West Coast of the United States. As a duo, we had been playing improvised music up until then. For this tour we wanted to change the concept and also include composition. It was clear to us that we didn’t want to read music on stage, so we rehearsed and memorized the tunes. In our performances, we weave in and out of these pieces in whatever way we feel like – the composed material is triggered by small musical cues either of us can play at any given moment. Flutter and Shutter were written by both of us and Chant II is a composition of mine.

Ingrid Laubrock, 06/09/2018

arrow-left FACEBOOK
Previous post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>